Student Leaders

Yale Hillel Student Board 2021

Co-Presidents: Ruthie Davis ’23 and Zevi Siegal ’23

ruth.davis@yale.edu & zevi.siegal@yale.edu

Ruthie is a sophomore in Ben Franklin College from Bala Cynwyd, PA. She loves getting to know people, dancing (badly), singing (medium), doing various arts and crafts and engaging in general shenanigans. She’s interested in Judaic Studies and Environmental Studies.

Zevi is a sophomore in Jonathan Edwards College from Riverdale, NY. He enjoys watching and playing various sports (including basketball and tennis), helping others, and just finished his tenth re-read of Harry Potter. He’s studying English, but is also interested in History, Education and all sorts of humanities things.

Social Justice: Hannah Edelstein ’24

hannah.edelstein@yale.edu

Hannah is a first year student in Ben Franklin from South Padre Island, Texas. She loves to bake, eat, laugh, and make crafts. She’s interested in learning about different cultures and religions, meeting new people, and traveling.

Communications: Aaron Schorr ’24

aaron.schorr@yale.edu

Aaron Schorr is a first-year student in Hopper College from Jerusalem, Israel. He grew up Modern Orthodox, is now unaffiliated but traditional, and is planning to major in EP&E. Before coming to Yale, Aaron served 3 years in the Israeli Air Force.

Slifka Liaison: Max Heimowitz ’23

max.heimowitz@yale.edu

Max is a sophomore in Ben Franklin College hailing from our nation’s capital, Washington, DC, and studying French. He is part of a fabulous tap-dancing twin duo and also involved with Taps at Yale.

Community Building: Yosef Malka ’24

yosef.malka@yale.edu

Yosef Malka is a first year from Rockville, Maryland in Morse College. He is currently in Directed Studies, and interested in Classics and Judaic Studies.

Outreach: Jacob Feit-Mann ’23

jacob.feitmann@yale.edu

Jacob is a sophomore in Hopper from Atlanta (by way of St. Louis,  originally from Manhattan). He enjoys chilling and graphic design and general hooliganism.

Jewish Culture: Lia Solomon ’24

lia.solomon@yale.edu

Lia is a first year from New York in Saybrook College.  She is also in Directed Studies, and a member of Magevet, Yale’s Jewish a cappella group. Plus, she loves a good black-and-white cookie.

Religious Life: Sam Pekats ’23

sam.pekats@yale.edu

Sam is a rising junior in Davenport College studying East Asian Studies. At Slifka, Sam is a regular in the Egal Minyan and at Shabbat Zemirot, and is the vocalist of the Yale Klezmer Band, Director of Hillel Hebrew School, and was Hillel Student Board’s Education Chair from 2020-2021; outside of Slifka, Sam enjoys knitting, rollerblading, practicing Mandarin, cooking, his work as staff writer for The Yale Review of International Studies, and working on the boards of Accent Multilingual Magazine and Yale Interpretation Network.

Shabbat: Eric Risch ’23

eric.risch@yale.edu

Eric is a sophomore in Trumbull College, coming from far-off Fairfield, Connecticut. He likes cooking, surprises, and playing guitar. He enjoys reading and writing, which is good because he’s an English major.


Young Israel House at Yale 2021-22

Co-Presidents:
Shayna Sragovicz and Miriam Kopyto ’23           shayna.sragovicz@yale.edu & miriam.kopyto@yale.edu


Egal at Yale Gabbaim 2021-22

Ikenna Maduno ’22 & Daniella Shear ’24                ikenna.maduno@yale.edu & daniella.shear@yale.edu


Reform Chavura Leaders 2021-22

Rachel Merrill ’23, rachel.merrill@yale.edu

Emma Levin ’23, emma.levin@yale.edu

Catherine Alam-Nist ’23, carolyn.alam-nist@yale.edu

Aliza Fisher ’23, aliza.fisher@yale.edu


Click here for the Slifka Student Leader Agreement: 2019-2020